October 17, 2021

Live updates: AP declares Scott winner of Florida Gov. race

Race for Florida Governor: Scott vs. Crist



10:24 p.m.: The Associated Press has declared Gov. Rick Scott the winner of the Florida governor’s race.

9:54 p.m. Gov. Rick Scott continued to hold on to the lead over Charlie Crist by the slimmest of margins. Just before 10 p.m. with 5,390 of 5,798 precincts reporting, Scott led 48 percent to Crist’s 47 percent.

9:44 p.m.: Florida voters rejected two amendments and passed another. Amendment 2, which would have opened the door to medical marijuana in Florida, received 57 percent of the ‘yes’ vote, 3 percent short of the 60 percent needed to become part of the state Constitution. Amendment 3, which would have allowed the governor to fill judicial vacancies, was also rejected by voters, only got 48 percent of the ‘yes’ vote. Amendment 1, which would allow funds for conservation programs, passed with 75 percent of the vote.

9:04 p.m.: Florida Gov. Rick Scott (R) held a slight edge over former Gov. Charlie Crist (D) on election night. As of just after 9 p.m. with 4,147 precincts reporting, Scott led Crist 49 to 46 percent.

8:54 p.m.: 184 out of 199 precincts are reporting in Duval County. The following State House races have been called: Janet Adkins, Dist. 11; Mia Jones, Dist. 14; Jay Fant, Dist. 15; Charles McBurney, Dist. 16. Also, the following State Senate races were called: Aaron Bean, Dist. 4; John Thrasher, Dist. 6. A special election will need to be held to fill Thrasher’s seat if he is appointed the president of Florida State University by the state board on Nov. 6.

8:44 p.m. Four local U.S. Reps. won re-election to their House seats: Rep. Ted Yoho (R), District 3, Rep. Ander Crenshaw (R), District 4, Rep. Corrine Brown (D), District 5 and Rep. Ron DeSantis (R), District 6.

Three incumbent state officials also won re-election to their positions; Attorney General Pam Bondi (R), Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater (R) and Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam (R).